Vassal attempt 2!

November 30, 2009

I had a couple hours spare to try out Vassal again. I tried a battle box game a few weeks ago, but this time wanted to try something a little bigger and managed to get a 25 point game in.

I played the Harbinger with a Crusader, Reckoner, Daughters, Choir and Bastions. I was up against a Merc army with Magnus, 2 Renegades (which are highly annoying when their once per game AOE’s hit you), Mangler, Kell & Idrians.

The Idrians first moved up towards me and shot up the Daughters but with a Martyrdom here and there, I only lost 1 Daughter. I figured there was plenty of time to use the focus to heal myself before I started needing it badly.  At first I was scared about the Idrians, but then remembered this is MK II and I managed to actually move my Daughters in to wipe out over half of them. Auto point of damage is very useful. The downside to this was I had bunched up the Daughters a little too closely and the Mangler came in the next turn and with his thresher attack took out all but one of my Daughters.

Kell was being highly annoying so my only option at the time was to run my Crusader up into melee with him while the Reckoner tried to keep a handle on the Marnier…. It didn’t work according to plan as the Mangler wrecked the Reckoner next turn…..

After spending 2 turns getting the Crusader up to Kell and then getting a 3D6 P&S 18 on him for the overkill, it was time to run the Crusader back into battle. The Idrians were persistent in shooting holes in the Bastions and I didn’t want to use up the Bastions to engage the Idrians when I needed them to attack the Marnier and Renegades.

So I ran the choir up to engage the Idrians, that took care of that problem 🙂

The Renegades took their ranged shots and killed a Bastion and knocked down another one. Then on my turn I moved them up as much as I could and attacked with the ones that I could wrecking the Mangler. The Crusader was now in the back arcs of all his jacks which allowed me to charge Magnus without threat of becoming engaged. I got a good hit off which left Magnus with 5 health. It was now up to Harby to finish the task. I charged one of my own Choir, with the auto-hit the poor acolyte never saw it coming. Next up was Cataclysm, it was just going to be a power 18 as I was just under 3″ away from Magnus (He had 6 focus on him) but with the boosted roll I managed to get exactly enough to put 5 points of damage on Magnus ending the game.

Vassal seems to work great for games online, the only two issues I had were that it was hard to very fine tune the turning of a model to set up the charge, when I turned to face a model it was either too much or not enough, so had to work around that problem by measuring and then just moving the model. And the other issue I had was with the ruler, I just can’t seem to figure it out, sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t. Much prefer a real tape measure!

 

 

2 Responses to “Vassal attempt 2!”


  1. […] reasons, I don’t have the time to make it out to the FLGS. So, I had the idea after reading a few other posts I had the idea to give Vassal another go. So what is Vassal? Its an engine designed to allow you to […]

  2. Norbert Brunhuber Says:

    You’re lucky he didn’t also have this common solo added to that kind of list. Here’s the relevant info; watch out for him!

    DOUGAL MACNAILE
    Commander
    Tough
    Artillerist (*Action) – Choose a friendly Faction model. While in this modelʼs command range, the chosen model gains +2 to AOE ranged attack rolls. When the chosen modelʼs AOE ranged attacks deviate, you can reroll the direction and/or distance of
    deviation. Artillerist lasts for one turn.

    Double Powder Ration – Once per game during its activation, this model can use Double Powder Ration. Ranged attacks made by friendly Faction models while in this modelʼs command range gain +2 RNG. Double Powder Ration lasts for one turn.

    Hit the Deck! – This model cannot be hit by AOE attacks. If it would be hit by an AOE attack, it is instead knocked down. While this model is knocked down, ranged attacks targeting it automatically miss.

    –Norbert


Leave a Reply

